Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, 1st Test, Mirpur

Posted on at

Brendan Taylor has won the toss and decided to bat in the first Test of Zimbabwe's tour of Bangladesh in Mirpur. It is Shakib Al Hasan's first game for Bangladesh, after the ban imposed on him by the BCB for disciplinary reasons was reduced.

Both teams named one debutant each in their XIs, both legspinners. Bangladesh gave Jubair Hossain, a 19-year old who has played only two first-class matches, a Test cap; while Zimbabwe's Tafadzwa Kamungozi has 44 first-class matches worth of experience and has also played six ODIs and a T20 international.

Bangladesh are yet to win a Test or a one-day international this year, but they begin this series as favourites because of the home advantage.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Shamsur Rahman, 3 Mominul Haque, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Shuvagata Hom, 8 Taijul Islam, 9 Jubair Hossain, 10 Shahadat Hossain, 11 Al-Amin Hossain

Zimbabwe: 1 Sikandar Raza, 2 Vusi Sibanda, 3 Hamilton Masakadza, 4 Brendan Taylor (capt), 5 Craig Ervine, 6 Elton Chigumbura, 7 Regis Chakabva (wk), 8 Tendai Chatara, 9 Tafadzwa Kamungozi, 10 John Nyumbu, 11 Tinashe Panyangara

About the author


Engr @Electrical Problems

Subscribe 0