Posted on at


Democracy is truly the best form of government, in democracy people choose their own government by vote. It is said that worst democracy is better than the best dictatorship.  Democracy is being  practiced in most of the countries of the world, some countries have parliamentary system and some have presidential system like America.

Parliamentary system is in practice in Pakistan. We have a National assembly and a Senate. Members of the national assembly are chosen directly by the people, and member of the Senate are chosen by the provincial assemblies. There are four provincial assemblies in Pakistan since Pakistan has four provinces.

Pakistan has a history of both democracy and dictatorship. Mohammad ail Jinnah known as (qaid-e-azam) was the first governor general of Pakistan and liaqat Ali khan became the first prime minister of Pakistan.

2.Khawaja Nazimuddin was the second prime minster3. Muhammad Ali Bogra 4.Chaudhry Muhammad Ali 5. Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy 6. Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar 7. Feroz Khan Noon 8. Nurul Amin

Field marshal Ayub khan imposed the first martial law in Pakistan in 1958. He handed over the govt. to genera Yahya Khan  who handed over the government to Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto who held the elections in 1973 and became the 9th prime minister of Pakistan. He again held the elections in 1977 and became the prime minister. The opposition alleged widespread vote rigging. The violence escalated across the country and  general Zia-ul-Haq deposed him and announced martial law. Zia-ul-Haq ruled Pakistan from 1977 to 1988. He held the elections in 1985 and mohammad khan junajo became prime minister who was dismissed by Zia-ul-Haq.  After the death of Zia-ul-Haq in  plane crash Ghulam Ishaq khan became the president and held the election in 1988 and Benazir Bhutto became the prime minister. Her government was dismissed in 1990.

 In the next elections Nawaz Sharif became the prime minister his tenure ended in 1993. His government was also ended by ghulam ishaq khan. Ghulam ishaq khan also the next elections Benazir Bhutto again became prime minister in 1993. This government was dismissed by president Farooq laghari in 1997. Nawaz Sharif became the prime minister in 1997, his government was dismissed in 1999 by General Pervez Musharraf, he remained in power till 2008. His tenure saw three prime minster(zafrarullah jamali,chaudhri shjahat and shokat aziz) Musharraf held the elections in 2007 PPP won the elections held by him and Yousaf Raza gillani became prime minister. Musharraf resigned in 2008 as a result of a tussle between Supreme Court and him. Asaf ali zardari became the president of pakistan after him. Yousaf Raza Gillani led the  PPP government from March 2008 to February 2011 and remained in office from 22 June 2012 to  25 March 2013. In  the next elections Nawaz sharif  became the prime minister in 2013 for the third time to become the first PM to be elected three times. He is the PM till now. This is the short history of democracy in paksitan.

About the author


my name is sss khan

Subscribe 0