Trail of Tears

Posted on at

The " Indian Removal Act of 1830" better known as the "Trail of Tears" was regulated by presidents Jackson and Van Buren. Between the years of 1830 and 1860 native americans east of the Mississippi river in the United States and driven to western territory states on indian reservations mostly in Oklaholma that were designated by the government.


The indian nations that were removed from the south eastern states were Cherokee,Muscogee, Seminole, Chickasaw,Creek and Choctaw.

The Cherokee nation was divided into thirteen groups which were led by John Ross.

In the Cherokee group 16,543 were relocated and 2,000 to 6,000 of those native americans died during the journey dues to illness, starvation or being elderly or weak and the miles walked and element of rain, snow and heat was too much for them.



About the author


I am a christian widow, mother of 3 and grandmother of 4. I love Disney World. Want to find ways to earn online!

Subscribe 0