Eyes on ISIS

Uploaded on Wednesday 11 April 2018


In October 2016, Allies agreed to provide support to the Global Coalition to Defeat ISIS with NATO’s AWACS surveillance aircraft. Their advanced sensors allow them to fly in Turkey while observing and managing the airspace in Iraq and Syria. NATO AWACS aircraft help improve the Coalition’s air picture. This makes the skies safer and Coalition air operations even more efficient.

The AWACS aircraft support the Coalition with air surveillance and
airspace management – this includes directing aircraft where to fly
and at what altitude. AWACS does not coordinate Coalition air
strikes or provide engagement clearances for fighter aircraft.

Under normal circumstances, the aircraft operates for about
eight hours, at 30,000 feet (9,150 metres) and covers a
surveillance area of more than 120,000 square miles (310,798
square kilometres).

16 Allies are full members of NATO’s AWACS programme: Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Turkey and the United States. Canada has recently announced its intention to rejoin; the United Kingdom exercises limited participation; and France has an observer role.


Language: English

Country: United States