The Philippine Independence Day

Posted on at

From our Philippine history, on June 12, 1898, General Emilio Aguinaldo, the leader of the Filipino revolutionary forces, publicly read the Act of the Declaration of Independence in Kawit, Cavite, that proclaimed the sovereignty and independence of the Philippines from the Spanish colonial rule.

During the event, the Philippine National Flag was also unveiled and the performance of the “Marcha Filipina Magdalo,” which was later known as “Lupang Hinirang,” was showcased.

The June 12, date of Independence was not recognized until August 4, 1964, when Pres. Diosdado Macapagal signed the Republic Act No. 4166, to designate the country’s Independence Day as June 12.

About the author


Agriculturist by professon and a Computer Techy. :) Business owner. Nature lover.

Subscribe 0