Women's Sports Foundation 34th Annual Salute

Posted on at

Since 1980, the Women's Sports Foundation has been hosting the Annual Salute Awards Gala celebrating female athletes and their accomplishments. Founded in 1970 by tennis great and gender equality advocate Billie Jean King, the Women's Sports Foundation promotes women and girls participation in sports as part of a healthy lifestyle. The Foundation's accomplishments over the years are too numerous to mention here, but it's mission and it's programs, scholarships and grants continue to empower female athletes to achieve their full potential and reach their goals academically as well as athletically.

This year's Salute was sponsored by Foundation partners Gatorade and ESPNW and hosted by ESPN anchor Hannah Storm. #InTheLab and host Arthur Kade were privileged to be there on the Red Carpet where we had the opportunity to speak with many of the evening's attendees and honorees including the legendary Billie Jean King. We also got insights from host Hannah Storm, golf legend Annika Sorenstam, Olympic gold medalist and pro soccer star Heather Mitts, former pro tennis player and sportscaster Mary Carillo, US figure-skating legend Michelle Kwan, Olympic swimmer, gold medalist Missy Franklin, Basketball Hall of famer Nancy Lieberman, Olympic gold medal gymnast Nastia Liukin, Olympic gold medalist, figure skater Sarah Hughes, and iconic broadcast journalist and sportscaster Bryant Gumble. Quite a star-studded roster! We hope you'll take a moment and listen in as these sports legends show their support for the Foundation and it's founder and the work they are committed to...





About the author


Producer, Entrepeneur, Founder, Advocate, Filmmaker & Dad w over 25 years of Film & Entertainment industry experience. Managing a collaborative community for startups, entrepreneurs, innovative technology companies, & LabChats. Trying to make a difference at 24 frames per second. Executive Producer of #InTheLab Internet Media Labs builds innovative real-time relevant.…

Subscribe 0