2014 Palm Springs International Film Festival Highlights

Posted on at

I had a blast covering the 25th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival!   I worked the red carpet like nobody else's business and why not?  All the big Hollywood A-listers were in attendance such as Sandra Bullock, Julia Roberts, Tom Hanks, Bradley Cooper, and much much more!

The biggest compliment I received was from Bruce Dern, the legendary actor who is receiving huge Oscar buzz for his new movie "Nebraska" from Alexander Payne.  He was one of my acting heroes of my childhood, and he complimented me on my shoes (take a look at the picture!) and said that I was his favorite interviewer of the evening!  Yay!

The event was held last Saturday, January 4th, at the Palm Springs Convention Center hosted by Mary Hart.  Here are some of the awards highlights:

  • Thomas Newman received the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing for Saving Mr. Banks presented by the film’s star Colin Farrell and director John Lee Hancock.
  • Steve McQueen received the Director of the Year Award for 12 Years a Slave presented by the film’s star Chiwetel Ejiofor.
  • Lupita Nyong’o received the Breakthrough Performance Award for 12 Years a Slave presented by her co-star Alfre Woodard and director Steve McQueen.
  • Bruce Dern (Nebraska) received the Career Achievement Award presented by his Coming Home co-star Jane Fonda.
  • Julia Roberts received the Spotlight Award for August: Osage County presented by her co-star Ewan McGregor.
  • Matthew McConaughey received the Desert Palm Achievement Award Actor for Dallas Buyers Club presented by his Tiptoes co-star Gary Oldman.
  • U2 received the Sonny Bono Visionary Award for their song ‘Ordinary Love’ from the film Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom presented by Mary Bono and the film’s starsIdris Elba and Naomie Harris.
  • American Hustle (Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Paul Herman, Jeremy Renner, Elisabeth Rohm and Shea Whigham in attendance) received the Ensemble Performance Award presented by the film’s director David O. Russell.
  • Sandra Bullock received the Desert Palm Achievement Award Actress for Gravity presented by her Hope Floats co-star Gena Rowlands.
  • Tom Hanks received the Chairman’s Award for Captain Phillips and Saving Mr. Banks presented by Julia Roberts, his co-star in Charlie Wilson’s War and Larry Crowne.
  • Meryl Streep received the Icon Award for August: Osage County presented by her co-star Margo Martindale.

Following the ceremony was an exclusive after party at the Parker Palm Springs where Amy Adams, Camila Alves, Mary Bono, Bradley Cooper, Bruce Dern, Idris Elba, Tom Hanks, Naomie Harris, Matthew McConaughey, Lupita Nyong'o, Amy Pascal, Jeremy Renner, Elisabeth Rohm, David O. Russell, Shea Whigham and many others were in attendance.

About the author


Manny the Movie Guy is a multi-Emmy award-winning film critic who has always had a passion for movies. His love of film criticism started while working for his school newspaper at Purdue University. Upon graduation, Manny was offered a full-scholarship to complete his Post-Baccalaureate degree in Film at the School…

Subscribe 0