"Silver Linings Playbook" Wows Detroit Film Critics

Posted on at

The Detroit Film Critics Society has chosen David O. Russell's "Silver Linings Playbook" as the best picture of the year in their annual movie awards. The film also won Best Director, Best Actress (Jennifer Lawrence), Best Screenplay, and Best Supporting Actor for Robert De Niro. Anne Hathaway scored another award for Best Supporting Actress for "Les Miserables." 

Here's the complete list of winners (highlighted) and nominees of the 2012 Detroit Film Critics Society Awards. For other winners/nominees of award-giving bodies this Awards Season, click here: 

The 2012 Detroit Film Critics Society Awards

BEST FILM Winner: Silver Linings Playbook
The Impossible
Take This Waltz
Zero Dark Thirty

BEST DIRECTOR Winner: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Ben Affleck, Argo
Juan Antonio Bayona, The Impossible
Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty
Sarah Polley, Take This Waltz

BEST ACTOR Winner: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
John Hawkes, The Sessions
Bill Murray, Hyde Park on Hudson
Joaquin Phoenix, The Master

BEST ACTRESS Winner: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty
Greta Gerwig, Damsels in Distress
Naomi Watts, The Impossible
Michelle Williams, Take This Waltz

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR Winner: Robert De Niro, Silver Linings Playbook
Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master
Tommy Lee Jones, Lincoln
Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike
Ewan McGregor, The Impossible
Ezra Miller, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS Winner: Anne Hathaway, Les Miserables
Amy Adams, The Master
Ann Dowd, Compliance
Sally Field, Lincoln
Helen Hunt, The Sessions

BEST ENSEMBLE Winner: Lincoln
Marvel’s The Avengers
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook

BREAKTHROUGH Winner: Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks
Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Rebel Wilson, Pitch Perfect
Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Craig Zobel, Compliance

BEST SCREENPLAY Winner: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon, The Cabin in the Woods
Tony Kushner, Lincoln
Sarah Polley, Take This Waltz

BEST DOCUMENTARY Winner: Jiro Dreams of Sushi
The House I Live In
The Imposter
The Queen of Versailles
Searching for Sugar Man

About the author


Manny the Movie Guy is a multi-Emmy award-winning film critic who has always had a passion for movies. His love of film criticism started while working for his school newspaper at Purdue University. Upon graduation, Manny was offered a full-scholarship to complete his Post-Baccalaureate degree in Film at the School…

Subscribe 0